How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Have a textbook or grammar book that you find particularly helpful? What about a learning tip to share with others?
appleraja
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon 08.29.2005 1:42 pm

RE: How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Post by appleraja » Sat 09.03.2005 12:32 pm

im able to write japanese in words documents, is their a way to make it write in other files such as instant messaging?

raevin
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed 04.20.2005 8:28 pm
Native language: English
Gender: Male
Contact:

RE: How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Post by raevin » Sat 09.03.2005 12:51 pm

im able to write japanese in words documents, is their a way to make it write in other files such as instant messaging?
Works
~ MSN Messenger
~ Yahoo! Messenger

Doesn't Work
~ AIM
~ AOL/CompuServe
~ ICQ (more than likely, since AOL now owns this...)

Not Sure
~ Jabber
~ IRC
~ Various programs like Trillian, gaim, etc...

<< EDIT >>: There should be a FAQ-reading requirement on this board...this question is getting pathetic (on how to type in Japanese).
Last edited by raevin on Sat 09.03.2005 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

appleraja
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon 08.29.2005 1:42 pm

RE: How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Post by appleraja » Sat 09.03.2005 12:53 pm

ah ic, u guys have one that works on AIM?

raevin
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed 04.20.2005 8:28 pm
Native language: English
Gender: Male
Contact:

RE: How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Post by raevin » Sat 09.03.2005 2:17 pm

ah ic, u guys have one that works on AIM?
Nothing will work for AIM...reason being, AIM doesn't support foreign characters...to the best of my knowledge anyways. Maybe it supports Russian or something, but not Japanese.

You can always try Trillian, gaim, or something like that, though even if it shows for you...it may not show for whoever you're talking to.

User avatar
Mariya
Posts: 457
Joined: Tue 07.05.2005 6:56 pm
Location: London, UK

RE: How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Post by Mariya » Sat 09.03.2005 2:53 pm

skrhgh3b wrote:
Oh my god, that'll make me laugh for days to come. You really hate Windows, huh? I have to live with it though. It really is a pain >.<. I've never tried Linux or Mac.
nah, i don't care enough about it to feel any hate. besides, hate is a strong word best reserved for more important things like the bush administration.
Wow. You're talking my language, I agree with you there. ;)

User avatar
shizuka
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue 08.23.2005 5:13 pm
Contact:

RE: How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Post by shizuka » Sat 09.03.2005 5:02 pm

Kurisuchan wrote:
PS: i also dont know how to type kanji and switch from hiragana to katakana to kanji but i guess that doesnt matter yet until i fix my problem any help is appreciated thanks:)
I'm not sure how to fix it picking the wrong alphabet, but i might be able to help with the kanji part:)

In windows it should underline the characters in red as you type them. After you complete a whole word, like わたし, you can hit enter to de-underline it, or hit space to convert it to what windows thinks is the most likely kanji you'll pick for it (私). If it's not the one you want, hit space again and it will drop down a list of possible kanji for the word.
I'll make a sig soon

appleraja
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon 08.29.2005 1:42 pm

RE: How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Post by appleraja » Sun 09.04.2005 12:47 am

hey um when u write in kanji or hiranga do u leave spaces between words? or no spaces

User avatar
shizuka
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue 08.23.2005 5:13 pm
Contact:

RE: How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Post by shizuka » Sun 09.04.2005 7:17 pm

No spaces.
I'll make a sig soon

natemb
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu 04.21.2005 12:13 am

RE: How to write Japanese with your keyboard?

Post by natemb » Sun 09.04.2005 8:25 pm

If you've installed your Japanese language toolbar and a random kana is coming out each time you hit a key, try going to "Tools" on your toolbar and click "Properties". Under the "General" tab, make sure "Input method" is set to "Romaji input". Let me know if that doesn't solve your problem.

Post Reply